ShowDown: Elimination #10

With only four shows left, I feel like I’m barely watching TV anymore.  But it’s a lovely stage in the competition because I’m enjoying everything we watch.  Some certainly more than others but it’s nice to be looking forward to everything we’re watching.  That being said, we definitely had a loser this week, but let’s look at the best shows first.

In the aftermath of its announced cancellation, Prime Suspect delivers one of its best episodes yet.  It makes me so frustrated with America for not watching this show but then rewarding the mediocrity of Once Upon a Time with a full season order.  I’ve never liked a procedural cop show before because they seemed so clinical and distant.  But Prime Suspect has more heart than any other cop show or anything else we’ve watched this season for that matter.  Its so honest and funny and this week’s episode was genuinely scary.  It’s such a perfect mix of emotion, story and smarts; I just love it.  Maria Bello: you’re amazing.  I’m just sorry America’s tastes are so sophomoric that we won’t get the chance to see more of you.

New Girl continued its streak of quite good episodes.  This one was funny, touching, and just the right amount of absurd.  Justin Long was a welcome addition to the cast, as the male equivalent and current love interest of Jess.  The on thing I will say is that every character can get annoying on this show.  They’re all so quirky and weird that sometimes it’s just tiresome. However, there are so many of them that the writers have done a good job of juggling who we’re focusing on so that I rarely get more than a little annoyed.  I’m also a little confused about what city this show takes place in but that’s neither here nor there.  It’s a solid comedy with long term prospects.

As usual, I had a great time watching Revenge.  It’s a really fun and addicting show.  But sometimes it goes too far into soap opera land and this week was one of those times.  The coma/amnesia storyline is downright absurd and the new Amanda Clarke feels fake and flat as a character, whose only dimension is her sex drive.  That’s what I don’t like about this show, when it feels totally false and hollow hearted.  Of course, I’m still madly addicted to it.  Madeleine Stowe is Maria Bello’s only real competition for my favorite female performance of the season.  I could watch her for hours.

The thing with Grimm is that I’m just sort of over it.  I’m totally ambivalent about it as a show.  I don’t care about the characters or the story or even the mythology anymore.  And that’s the kiss of death for a TV show.  In order for you to convince your audience to come back week after week, they have to care about SOMETHING, and Grimm hasn’t offered anything to keep me coming back.  Also, I’ve noticed that this show isn’t really about fairy tales so much as fantasy things.  What fairy tale has bees in it?  And those quotes at the beginning of each episode mean nothing to me and come off as though they’re trying to be intellectual.  But all these problems are rather minor compared to the fact that I just don’t care about the show at all.  So saying goodbye to it certainly isn’t hard.

ELIMINATED: Grimm

Leave a comment